Fabrics

Got beautiful fabrics from Stonemountain & Daughter Fabrics up in Berkeley. So sad that it is an hour drive away, but it’s probably good for my wallet that it is.

Left to right: Underskirt fabric, main fabric, bodice lining, and trim

Left to right: Underskirt fabric, main fabric, bodice lining, and trim

The colors are a lot more accurate here

The colors are a lot more accurate here

The main fabric is a silk cotton blend that I am in looove with. I officially want to use it for everything. It’s fairly thin and drapey, but the cotton makes it sturdy enough to be easy to work with. I’m already planning on getting a dark pink for a 1910s or 1930s dress.

The dark purple is a 100% cotton sateen, because the dark purple silk/cottons were too bright and didn’t match well.

Got a plain cotton lavender remnant to use as the bodice lining (plus some wool remnants for modern stuff, because I couldn’t resist).

I ended up getting that trim off ebay for only 99 cents a yard! It’s obviously the wrong color, so I’m going to try *gulp* dying it.

As usual, I dramatically overestimated how much fabric I would use. After cutting out the skirt I still have ~2.5 yards left of the cotton/silk, so I’ll have enough for a day bodice. And I was nuts with the dark purple, and will probably have 3 yards left for whatever. Extra cotton sateen in a lovely purple never hurt anyone.  And God said, lo, let there be a stash! And it was good.

This entry was posted in 1890s, The First Lady Dress. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

